A foreign shareholder has incorporated a Zambian company, signed a lease in Lusaka and transferred funds for equipment. The next question usually causes delay: does the Zambia Development Agency approve the right to live and work in the business?
The answer matters because a ZDA investment licence Zambia application and an Immigration Investor’s Permit are separate processes. As of 14 October 2026, the Zambia Development Agency, or ZDA, handles investment registration or licensing through its e-Services portal. The Department of Immigration issues the Investor’s Permit.
We see businesses lose time when they call an Investor’s Permit a “ZDA permit”. ZDA documentation can support an Immigration application where available, but it does not replace the permit application.
Start by separating the two approvals
An Investor’s Permit gives a qualifying foreign investor authority to reside in Zambia for the purpose of investing. The Department of Immigration assesses the permit application, its supporting documents and the applicant’s investment evidence.
A ZDA investment licence or Investor Certificate of Registration serves a different purpose. It records and supports the investment with ZDA. Its thresholds, incentives and application process must not be confused with Immigration’s personal-investment test.
This distinction affects the order of work. Incorporate the company with the Patents and Companies Registration Agency, PACRA, before making the ZDA application. Then assemble the Immigration file around the foreign investor, the company and the capital committed.
The practical sequence
1. Incorporate the Zambian company through PACRA.
2. Establish the investment structure, shareholding and evidence of capital.
3. Apply for the relevant ZDA investment registration or licence through the ZDA e-Services portal.
4. Submit the Investor’s Permit application to the Department of Immigration with the ZDA licence where available.
5. Register operational tax and employer obligations with the Zambia Revenue Authority, ZRA, and the National Pension Scheme Authority, NAPSA, when employment begins.
Do not wait until a renewal to build the compliance file. ZRA receipts, tax clearance, audited accounts and bank records become central to the renewal process.
Know the Investor’s Permit investment threshold
For a new business, the Department of Immigration requires a foreign Investor’s Permit applicant to show personal investment of at least US$250,000. For an investor joining an existing company, the stated minimum is US$150,000.
The distinction turns on whether the applicant starts a new enterprise or enters an existing one. A shareholder buying into a company already trading should not assume that a new-business investment figure applies without checking how Immigration will classify the transaction.
The Department of Immigration accepts three stated forms of investment evidence:
● A bank statement.
● A money-transfer record.
● ZRA Form CE20 showing the description and value of imported goods or equipment.
Each item must show a credible connection between the applicant, the investment and the Zambian enterprise. A large payment into an unrelated account creates questions that a clean capital trail would avoid.
Worked example: a new manufacturing operation
Take an investor establishing a small food-processing company in the Lusaka Province. She commits US$280,000, with US$190,000 transferred through the company’s bank account and US$90,000 represented by imported processing equipment recorded on ZRA Form CE20.
Her evidence clears the US$250,000 new-business threshold on its face. The stronger file also explains the company structure, identifies her shareholding and reconciles the equipment value to the business plan.
If she had transferred only US$120,000 and treated a future financing promise as the balance, she would face a weak application. Immigration asks for proof of personal investment, not an intention to invest later.
Worked example: joining an established company
Consider an overseas investor purchasing a stake in an existing Zambian logistics company. He contributes US$165,000 and documents the transfer, the share transaction and the company’s PACRA records.
That amount exceeds the US$150,000 threshold for joining an existing company. He should still show how the money entered the enterprise or acquired the investment interest, because a bank balance alone does not explain the transaction.
The common mistake is to use the US$250,000 threshold simply because it is more widely quoted. The correct starting point is the nature of the investment, then the evidence that supports it.
Do not rely on the obsolete 200-job rule
Many investor presentations still repeat a requirement to invest US$250,000 and create 200 Zambian jobs. That was linked to the former Zambia Development Agency Act No. 11 of 2006. It is not the current 2026 Investor’s Permit threshold.
Parliament repealed that Act when the Zambia Development Agency Act No. 17 of 2022 took effect on 13 January 2023. The current Department of Immigration portal does not publish a fixed job-creation number for an Investor’s Permit.
That does not make citizen employment irrelevant. Under the Immigration and Deportation Act No. 18 of 2010, an Investor’s Permit holder may employ authorised expatriates only on condition that the holder employs a prescribed minimum number of Zambian citizens. The Department of Immigration portal does not state the numerical minimum, so this point requires confirmation before an application relies on a staffing plan.
Our judgement is straightforward. Do not put “200 jobs” into a board paper, investor deck or permit application as though it were a current statutory test. Build a credible local-employment plan that fits the enterprise, then verify any prescribed staffing number with the relevant authority before filing.
A capital-intensive operation may begin with a smaller workforce than a retailer with several outlets. Immigration, ZRA, NAPSA and labour compliance will still expect the business to maintain records that match its actual operations.
Prepare the Immigration application file
The Department of Immigration’s current Investor’s Permit requirements call for a complete, consistent file. A covering letter should address the Director-General and explain the investment, the applicant’s role and the documents enclosed.
For a first application, prepare the following core documents:
● Covering letter addressed to the Director-General.
● Certificate of incorporation from PACRA.
● Share-capital certificate, where required.
● Certificate of minimum capital.
● List of directors.
● Evidence of the qualifying investment.
● Evidence of business premises through ownership or lease documents.
● Certified copy of the applicant’s passport.
● Two passport photographs.
● Prescribed application fee.
● ZDA investment licence, where available.
The phrase “where available” matters. Do not delay a permit application solely because someone has told you that a ZDA licence is mandatory in every case. Immigration’s current published wording does not say that.
At the document-checking stage, consistency often decides whether an officer asks for clarification. The company name, director details, lease, bank evidence and shareholding records should use the same legal entity and spelling.
A lease signed by an individual while the application identifies a company can be explained, but only if the file explains it. The step applicants skip most often is reconciling the documents before submission.
Budget for the permit fee separately
As of 14 October 2026, the Department of Immigration fee table lists Investor’s Permit issuance at K16,160 inclusive of VAT. It lists renewal at K20,200 and specified variations at K20,200.
Treat these fees as Immigration charges, separate from incorporation, ZDA, tax, premises and operating costs. Fees can change, so an M&J team member should verify the applicable amount with the official fee table before payment.
Do not promise an approval date to an investor based on the Immigration Control Act No. 3 of 2026. The Act was assented to on 31 March 2026 and published on 8 April 2026, but it requires a commencement statutory instrument and was listed as uncommenced as of 14 October 2026. Its proposed 60-day decision provision should therefore not be treated as operative without checking the Gazette.
Build the renewal file from day one
An Investor’s Permit is not a once-only corporate document. The renewal file tests whether the enterprise became a compliant operating business.
The Department of Immigration currently requires VAT or ZRA receipts, or a valid ZRA Tax Clearance Certificate, for renewal. It also requires a ZICA-recognised audit report, a current bank statement, a lease where applicable, a passport copy and the prescribed fee.
Immigration conducts an inspection after the renewal submission. That makes the business address, operating records and actual commercial activity important, not merely the paperwork.
Keep these records during the year
Keep the company’s bank statements and maintain a clear record of investment inflows. Retain ZRA filings and receipts, because a late tax position can become an immigration renewal issue.
If the business hires staff, complete ZRA employer compliance and NAPSA employer registration as the operations begin. Payroll records, contracts and statutory remittances should match the workforce described in any application.
A company with twelve staff and a monthly payroll of K300,000 should reconcile its payroll, PAYE position, NAPSA records and management accounts each month. That discipline costs less than reconstructing a year of records during an inspection or renewal.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a ZDA investment licence the same as an Investor’s Permit?
No. ZDA issues investment registration or licensing documentation, while the Department of Immigration issues the Investor’s Permit. Immigration lists a ZDA investment licence as required where available, not as an automatic substitute for the permit process.
What is the minimum investment for an Investor’s Permit in Zambia?
A foreign investor starting a new business must show personal investment of US$250,000. A foreign investor joining an existing business must show US$150,000, supported by a bank statement, money transfer or ZRA Form CE20 for imported goods or equipment.
Must an investor create 200 Zambian jobs?
No current Department of Immigration publication states 200 jobs as an Investor’s Permit threshold in 2026. The figure came from the repealed 2006 ZDA Act. Citizen employment remains relevant under immigration law, but the currently published numerical minimum is not stated.
What do I need to renew an Investor’s Permit?
Prepare ZRA VAT receipts or a valid ZRA Tax Clearance Certificate, a ZICA-recognised audit report, current bank statement, lease where applicable, passport copy and the renewal fee. Immigration also conducts an inspection after submission.
A well-prepared investment file gives decision-makers a coherent account of capital, premises, governance and tax compliance. Speak With Our Team, or visit the ZDA investment licence Zambia hub page to plan the right sequence for your investment.